New Video series: HTML tutorials?

In this post I’m going to talk about a new series of videos I am thinking of doing on YouTube, and wanted to know what you all thought about this and if its a good idea. So read on to find out more information about this new series, and when your done let me know what you think in the comments.

What the series will be about?

The series will be basic HTML tutorials that show you how to do basic coding and sorting out the file structure etc.   This is so you can get a basic website up and running.  However the series will focus mainly on coding, using FTP and other internet heavy stuff will not be included because the internet in my room is rubbish (as usual).

I’ll also try and cover any other code that I think is relevant, like jQuery, HTML etc.

It will also show you what you shouldn’t do when coding a website such as not being featured on “Web Pages that suck” for example
I will also be covering anything that I think can provide an alternative to hand coding in elements and save time.

Why are you doing this?

I’m doing this because if you think about it the future is going to be in websites and apps.  Stop right there! Most apps you see on phones and tablets are simply webpages, they’re coded with the same code, and even Windows 8 apps are created using Javascript.  All you need to do to make an app is use PHP, mySQL, HTML and CSS and you can create simple apps.

I want to pass on what I’ve learned to everyone else, as I see no harm in it at all and it will help most people in the future.

When will I do this?

Depends on what people think about this whole thing, I am going to have a pilot video uploaded to see how people respond to it, if the reactions are positive then I’ll make more HTML tutorial videos.  Since I am absolutely useless when it comes to scheduling things I won’t give a definitive time frame.

While you wait.

In the mean time though take a look at the tutorial I made.  It is a “How to” get a jQuery slider on your website without jQuery and without hand coding it into the website. Using a free application called “WowSlider”.    I highly recommend doing this as it will make adding a slider into a website so much easier and it has support for touch screen devices so it comes in handy when developing a mobile website or application and to top it off its free, and the only limitation is the little wowslider watermark, but you can get that removed if you have the paid version of WowSlider.

Now you might have to do some cutting and pasting of code to get it into the right place, and if your making it I recommend that the images you get fit it perfectly.  So if you want a 640×360 slider, you should use 640×360 images too.  You can always get handy with Photoshop or GIMP and edit images to fit it if you want.

Take a look at an example I did for a college assignment below to see what it looks like when finished.  I did have to cut and past the code to get it where I wanted  but it worked.

jQuery Slider Example

 

 

Leave a comment.

