New Nexus 7 – Pre-release opinons.

Since there is a new Nexus 7 coming out soon (it hasn’t released here in the UK yet) I thought I should give my impressions on the device and how it compares to the current Nexus 7 and what I hope the new version brings.

The specs

From what I’ve been able to gather from the internet, here are the specs of the new Nexus 7 (dubbed the 2013 model)

Display: 

7.02″ 1920×1200 HD display (321DPI) and 1080p HD IPS.

Scratch resistant corning glass.

Camera

1.2 Megapixel Front facing fixed focus camera

5MP rear facing auto focus camera

Wireless

Dual Band Wi-FI B/G/N (2.4Ghz/5Ghz)

Bluetooth 4.0

NFC for Android Beam

 

Sound

Stereo Speakers and Surround sound.

3.5mm Audio jack (for headphones)

Memory

16GB internal storage space

2GB RAM

Ports

Micro USB

SlimPort enabled

Battery

3,950 mAH battery (9 hours of battery life, 4.5 on full brightness)

Wireless charging built in

CPU

Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro 1.5Ghz

GPU

Andreno 320 400Mhz

Specs can be found here: https://play.google.com/store/devices/details?id=nexus_7_16gb_2013

The new Nexus 7 does have some impressive specs when compared with the current Nexus 7.  Overall its packing a lot more power but I do have some concerns.  The GPU doesn’t seem to be all that powerful, so I can’t see myself playing some of the more intensive games on the device.   It is also missing an SD card port, so you can’t expand the memory, however I’m curious as to what this “SlimPort” is all about.

It is also running Android 4.3, which supposedly boosts the graphics power by adding in OpenGL support and also allows people to lock users out of specific apps, which personally is great for kids, so parents don’t have to worry about running up massive bills on games like Plants vs Zombies, however whether parents actually use this feature remains to be seen, but we should make it clear than an Android device is not a babysitter.

What I want to see

While the specs are pretty good for a cheaper priced tablet, I would like to see the performance improved over the current Nexus 7 model.  I found with the current model that it tends to slow down quite a bit, and it all seems to stem from Google Currents, so not having that app built in would be a huge plus.

Also since the GPU is on the lower end, they need to rethink their marketing.  The current Nexus 7 model was marketed as a device for playing games, which it can.  However some of the more intensive games are sluggish and slow on the device.

I also want to see an official external keyboard for the device as there were pretty strong rumors that the current Nexus 7 was getting a keyboard, but in the end it never did.

Next I’d like to see the wireless charger packaged with the device.  Yes it has wireless charging built in, but its useless unless you have a special charger to use it with and techically speaking its not wireless, as the wireless charger needs to be plugged into an outlet. SO technically speaking its not wireless, and if its not the charger has to be fairly priced, between £10-15 I’d say.

Finally, I’d like to see Android 5.0 on there.

What I DON’T want to see.

The biggest thing that annoyed me with the Nexus 7 was that my first Nexus 7 died due to hardware failure through no fault of my own.  I’d rather not see that mistake repeated with the new model. These tablets might be reasonably priced, but they’re still expensive to replace. So some sort of warranty would be essential.

I also don’t want to see Google Currents on there as that is the main cause of the current nexus 7’s bad performance.  I never used Google Currents anyway and I see it as crapware pure and simple.

Will you get one?

Me? Yeah I will.  Google has made some much needed improvements over the current Nexus 7, and I love the current Nexus 7.   I just hope that it meets my needs, and doesn’t end up gathering dust on a shelf.  The new model seems reasonably priced (although there is no UK pricing as of yet), and a new tablet would be perfect.

It also has stock Android, so the amount of crapware on there should be minimal. (Ask Samsung about Crapware)

The real question is what I should do with my old one.  I might end up selling it to someone or I might keep it as a spare.  I don’t know yet, I’ll have to wait and see what happens.

 

Thanks for reading. Are you getting the new Nexus 7? What do you think about it?  Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a comment.

