Update: Laptop is kaput

Hey everyone.  Just posting a quick update to let you all know what’s happening with the laptop, and my plans for now until I get it replaced or fixed.  Lets hope the laptop gets sorted quickly.

Yesterday I left a game of the Sims 3 running for a few hours while I was working on the computer downstairs.  When I came back up a black screen showed a message saying it couldn’t find the boot disc. I tried reinstalling windows 8 but it kept saying  the hard drive didn’t exist, and this made me panic, because I always bring the laptop with me to work as I prefer to work using my own software.

Laptop issue
The screen that was showing on my laptop.

So sadly this means no content or YouTube videos until it gets fixed or replaced.  Any videos will have to be webcam uploads from my mum’s computer again.  Like a few years back when Brighthouse supposedly fixed my old tower PC which I believe is still working even though I haven’t had it switched on for years.  Hopefully I can just hook a monitor up to it (and my keyboard and mouse) and just use that PC for the time being.

So anyway, I posted on Neowin about it and I got five replies, all of which were saying that the hard drive is basically dead.  So I had no choice but to send it off for either a repair or replacement.  Truth be told, I’ve had a suspicion that the laptop was on its way out for a while now.   I can honestly say though that this is the first time I’ve ever experienced a hard drive failure.

When it does get fixed/replaced I’ll have to install everything again, all my steam games, my applications and programs etc.

However I do have some good news.  Today I should hopefully be able to get the WiFi range extended so I have internet access in my room.  Honestly it doesn’t bother me if its slow access, it’s better than no access at all.  Apparently all I’d have to do is press a couple of buttons and it should be good to go.  I do have a tablet and a phone I can test this with which has been recommended by people on Amazon.

So don’t panic if I’m gone off YouTube for a while.  I’ll still be able to see your comments and reply to them, just not as often as I’d like to.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you in my next post.

(Here is the link to the Neowin post I was talking about if your interested in providing some input on this issue)

2 thoughts on “Update: Laptop is kaput

Leave a comment.

