Problems with my Nexus 7?

Its no secret that Googles best selling tablet is plagued with problems.  I thought I’d share what issues I’m having and see what I can do to get it fixed. I love using stock Android as I can start from sqaure one, and don’t have to worry about the crapware shoved on other tablets.

Update: Sadly I couldn’t fix the tablet, I tried everything I could.  Holding buttons down for 30 seconds didn’t work and none of the battery cables were lose. I ended up having to get a replacement Nexus 7.   I still like the Nexus 7 as it offers a lot of power and customistion for a better price of £189.99.

Specific Issue

I’ve had my Nexus 7 for a few months now, I love using it because it has stock Android on there and no stupid pre-installed crapware like Touhwhiz. It was pretty smooth until the 4.2 update made it somewhat sluggish (but thats probably been improved by now).  So there was a time were I never needed to use my Nexus 7 and I kinda let it gather dust until just recently.

The problem I am having is that I can’t turn the device on …. well not properly anyway.  I’d plug it into the charger and I’d get just a black screen and nothing else shows up.  However the screen is backlit so its getting power.

Possible Fixes

I really want to try and avoid having to open up the Nexus 7 as it doesn’t have a user serviceable battery, but some users have reported that a cable may have come loose in the nexus 7 and that gently pushing these cables back into place should fix it. The problem doing this is that I could seriously mess up the device to the point where it cannot be fixed.

Another more easier fix is to hold down the power and volume down buttons for 30 seconds while the device is plugged in, which should get me into the bootloader, from there I’ll have to navigate to power off device and then unplug the device and then plug it back in again and apparently this works for most people.

I will try and fix this tonight if possible and I’ll take some pictures while doing it so I can share a tutorial with you all.

Have any of you had this issue? Let me know in the comments, and thanks for reading.

One thought on “Problems with my Nexus 7?

Leave a comment.

