Preview: Doom 3: BFG Edition. (Not Hands-on)

Here I am once again with another preview. This time it’s a preview of a classic remade for modern consoles, and that classic is … Doom 3 BFG edition.

DOOM iPod
DOOM iPod (Photo credit: scottkellum)

When I was young I played doom, well not when it first came out, I played it first on PSOne. Yeah I played the Ported version first and I then played the SNES and the updated Doom Collectors edition (Which contain Doom, Doom 2, and Final doom with a remastered soundtrack).  I’ve also played Doom 3 and RoE on PC and Original Xbox.

I also own Doom 1 and 2 on Xbox live arcade, and I own the ID pack on Steam.

Doom s level of graphic violence made the game...
Doom’s level of graphic violence made the game highly controversial (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You get it now? I am no stranger to the world of Doom, and blasting away demonic Aliens is something I enjoy. 

BFG edition looks set to raise the bar even futher, which is incredible given that this is a remake/update of an older title. What is more incredible is that this game is coming to PS3 and Xbox 360.  Doom 3 was previously a PC and Xbox (original) exclusive.

The BFG Edition contains Doom 3, it’s expansion pack RoE and a new campaign called “Lost Levels” (If you’ve played Mario All stars on the Snes then yes this looks familar).

It also allows you to use the flash light (or Torch as we call it in the UK) while using your guns, which is something that was highly requested. Although some people complained so I assume there’ll be an option to switch this on/off for those that want to play it the classic Doom 3 way.

It also includes Doom, Doom 2 and Final doom (Final doom will make it’s first ever apperance on consoles).

Final Doom
Final Doom (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My hope is that they make the game even better, and fix some of the bugs that plauged the original releases. One such bug was that annoying jumpiung of the video logs in RoE I hope this is fixed.

Now I admit the screenshots I’ve seen of the BFG edition look exactly the same as they did on the original Xbox, although I did notice some improved lighting which the original Doom 3 and RoE needed.

I have no information regarding “The lost levels” but once I know more (or wait 3 more days) we’ll all have the information.

Are you getting Doom 3: BFG? Let me know in the comments, and look out for future content.  I’ll see you all in the Depths of Hell… I mean … Mars.

One thought on “Preview: Doom 3: BFG Edition. (Not Hands-on)

Leave a comment.

