Update: Starting new Job on Monday (1st October)

Just letting you all know about what’s been happening recently. As you have guessed by the title of this blog post, I am starting a Web Development Apprenticeship on Monday.  As you all well know my luck in finding a job since I left the BBC has been well …… not good.

One day an advisor at Shaw trust told me about a new web development apprenticeship, and she asked if I was interested.  I was actually going to turn it down since I don’t consider my self a web developer,  however I didn’t want to pass this opportunity up, as another one like it may never come up again.

To my surprise I was invited in for an interview, which is very rare as usually employers don’t even bother contacting me after I apply for the job. I admit during the interview I was very very nervous, and it even shown in the way I was speaking, however a few days later the employer contacted me and said Yes.  I was very pleased, as I didn’t think I stood out enough to make an impact.

This means I can now get myself off Job Seekers Allowance, and start earning my own money again, and who knows this job could lead to a full blown career.

However this also means bad news …… since the job is a full 9-to-5 deal. it means I can no longer make videos as much as I have been doing the past several months.  You see by the time I get home it’ll be gone 6pm, and at that time I only have about 3 hours of free time because I like to be in bed by 9pm, however I do get Weekends off which I suppose is a good thing, and I can always book days off should I need them.

The best thing about this job is that I don’t need to wear a shirt and tie, as it’s a pretty casual job.

 

So thanks for reading a look out for future content.

Leave a comment.

