Banned from YouTube for two weeks.

Here is the link to my video about this. For some reason Live Writer doesn’t want to embed it directly. So I apologise for this.

http://vimeo.com/45217712

If you follow me on Twitter you’ll know that I’ve been banned from YouTube for two weeks, as some people flagged one of my videos, and this is my second violation in 6 months. I need to make this blog post, to get the word out.  I have made a video on Vimeo about this, but I feel making a blog post packs a little more punch.

Here is the message from YouTube about the ban.

The YouTube Community has flagged one or more of your videos as inappropriate. Once a video is flagged, it is reviewed by the YouTube Team against our Community Guidelines. Upon review, we have determined that the following video(s) contain content in violation of these guidelines, and have been disabled:

  • Name & Shame – fivebirdman – (illage2)

YouTube is all about sharing and it can feel great to get positive feedback and attention from the community. But when users receive comments or videos that attack and bully them, their experience is no longer fun or safe. YouTube is not a venue for things like predatory behaviour, stalking, threats, harassment, intimidation, invading privacy, revealing other people’s personal information and inciting others to commit violent acts or to violate the Terms of Use. If you continue to post such content, you may have your account permanently suspended.

This is the second Community Guidelines warning sanction that your account has received within six months. Accordingly, the ability to access this account has been disabled and will not return until two weeks after you acknowledge this message. Please review the YouTube Community Guidelines and refrain from further violations, which may result in the termination of your account(s).

For more information on YouTube’s Community Guidelines and how they are enforced, please visit the Help Centre. “

 

Okay I understand that I may have gone over the top with that video. I am willing to remove the video, I have no need to keep it on my channel any more.  However there is one thing I’d like to point out.

I’ve noticed that YouTube seem to be picking on smaller channels, as if my channel was bigger (Around 50k subscribers) then I can almost guarantee that I wouldn’t have been banned and that YouTube wouldn’t have even noticed. YouTube keeps bosting about how they help people’s channels to grow, how can this be, when they are banning smaller channels? What kind of message does that send?

To me the message is this “If you don’t make us enough money we’ll do everything we can to ban you”

I also want to point out that the community guidelines were not breached by the video.

Why don’t you use another service?

A good question, the only answer I can give is that YouTube is where my content gets more exposure, and besides there is no limit to how many videos you can upload.  I am annoyed with YouTube because my channel gets banned, yet there are thousands of videos on there that should be removed, and that should be banned.

Why don’t you appeal against the ban?

I have done, and so far YouTube have either not responded yet or are just ignoring my appeal request. Please don’t bullshit me about Independence Day, obviously someone must have been working at YouTube on that day to ban me. Now if I was living in Arizona I would understand as trolling is illegal there, but I don’t. I live in the UK.

Techincally speaking I won’t be able to use YouTube for 3 weeks on the day I am supposed to be unbanned I’ll be going on Holiday for a week. Worry not though for I shall be taking my Acer Icona Tab with me so I can use a Wi-Fi hotspot.

So sadly you won’t be seeing any new videos from me until next month.  However you can still watch my videos, as my videos are still visible for people to watch.

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Banned from YouTube for two weeks.

  1. that sucks dude, even with other services happens the same but with different situations! if you dont help the company to earn money or in another case, the same situation happened to me yesterday with software for mobile phones, if the operative system isnt too much popular, the companies refuses to create o adapt their programs to work with them. as you said, we have to remember them that the business go arround us, and not arround them!

    1. Yeah it does, however with other services they at least give you a chance. I did file a counter claim, but YouTube refused it mere seconds after I filed it. It shows they were out to get me that day, and didn’t even consider the clear video eveidence of me getting bullied first.

      Thanks for commenting on the blog.

Leave a comment.

