New Phone – Galaxy S2

If you follow me on Twitter or G+ you’ll know that I am supposed to be getting a Galaxy S2 today.  I really liked using my old Galaxy S1, as I think it was a reliable phone, but its time had past, as it was still using Android Froyo operating system, and for some reason it would not update despite there being a version 3.0, and soon to be 4.0 coming out.

I am getting the Galaxy S2 because it has the power I need. I do not like sluggish and slow phones. The GS2 was the logical choice. Now while it was £500 on PAYG I feel it is worth the investment. I am getting it in Black as I hate the colour white on phones etc.

The only problem is that I cannot remember if I ordered the 16GB or 32GB version, but that does not matter if I am being honest.

Galaxy S2 Specs (Source: http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9100_galaxy_s_ii-3621.php)

The Galaxy S2 is an amazing phone from what I have heard.

Display: Super AMOLED Plus capacitive touchscreen @ 480×800, Touchwhiz, Gorilla Glass display, 4.3″, Multi-touch input.

Storage: 16GB/32GB

Memory: 1024(1GB) RAM

Card Slot: Up to 32GB (8GB included)

WLAN: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n, DLNA, Wi-Fi Direct, Wi-Fi hotspot

3G:  HSDPA, 21 Mbps; HSUPA, 5.76 Mbps

Bluetooth: Yes, v3.0+HS

USB: Yes, v2.0 microUSB (MHL), USB On-the-go

CAMERA Primary:

  • 8 MP
  • 3264×2448
  • pixels
  • Auto-focus
  •  LED flash
  •  check quality

Features

  • Geo-tagging
  • touch focus
  • face and smile detection,
  • image stabilization
  • Video Yes, 1080p@30fps
  • check quality
  • Secondary Yes, 2 MP front facing camera

FEATURES:

  • OS Android OS, v2.3 (Gingerbread) (Rumor says 4.0 will be available for this device soon)
  • CPU Dual-core 1.2GHz ARM Cortex-A9 processor, Mali-400MP GPU, Exynos chipset
  • Messaging SMS(threaded view), MMS, Email, Push Mail, IM, RSS
  • Browser HTML
  • Radio Stereo FM radio with RDS (Requires headphones that come with the GSII)
  • Games
  • Colors Black, White
  • GPS Yes, with A-GPS support
  • Java Yes, via Java MIDP emulator
  •  Active noise cancellation with dedicated mic
  •  NFC support (optional)
  •  TV-out (via MHL A/V link)
  •  SNS integration
  •  Digital compass
  •  Supported video formats: MP4/DivX/XviD/WMV/H.264/H.263 player
  •  Supported Audio Formats: MP3/WAV/eAAC+/AC3/FLAC player
  •  Organizer
  •  Image/video editor
  •  Document editor (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF)
  •  Google Search,
  • Maps
  • Gmail
  • YouTube,
  • Calendar
  • Google Talk
  • Picasa integration
  • Adobe Flash 10.1 support
  • Voice memo/dial/commands
  • Predictive text input (Swype)

BATTERY:

  • Standard battery, Li-Ion 1650 mAh
  • Stand-by Up to 710 h (2G) / Up to 610 h (3G)
  • Talk time Up to 18 h 20 min (2G) / Up to 8 h 40 min (3G)
If you look at these specs its easy to see why I would want this phone. While the iPhone 4S may be popular, I like the sheer power and customization that this phone brings. I’ll be using this phone for my on-the-go social networking, and video blogging. I’ll also be gaming and customising this phone.
So now you are wondering …. “Why on Pay as You Go? Why not get it on contract?”  Well the answer is that a contract over time turns out to be more expensive in the long run and since there is no way of telling if you are near your text/call limt it’s easier to run up a massive bill. With PAYG I don’t have to worry about it, I can even get 3G (Via Vodafone) on PAYG. This way I can put what credit I want on when I need it.
If I did get it on contract the phone could actually cost me more than it’s worth, in extreme cases the phone can cost over £1000 and that is with all the bills from the contract. I do agree that even £500 for a phone is a bit much but still I’m getting a really good phone out of it.
Now your asking “Vodafone are crap get O2”, Vodafone are not as bad as people make it out to be, plus they are the only tariff (that I know of) that still offers £5 top-ups, plus it also offers a £5 web pack which gives you 250MB of internet for a whole month, and you can stack multiple web packs.
They also offer a £10 web pack which offers up to 512MB internet for one month. On my GS1 I was able to download a load of apps from the Market place without running out on the webpack which is good, I also got a fairly good speed on the SpeedTest app.
I am going to be selling my old GS1 when I get my new phone, but I’ll only be selling it locally.  I want at least £200 for it, which is a fair price considering I paid £300 for the phone second hand from CEX.
So what phone do you own? Are you getting a new one? Let me know in the comments!
Leave a comment.

